There are currently four Telecom-generated 5g-bills in the Maryland General Assembly that would allow harmful radiation-emitting cell tower antennas next to our homes.
  • Small cells would be deployed on Maryland street lights, buildings, and near homes without any say from local voices.
  • Towers could be right up next to our homes – mere feet from our bedroom windows.

Basically, the bills strip our towns and cities from almost all authority regarding these so-called “small cell” facilities.

We need to come together and voice our opposition LOUD and CLEAR!

Please try to attend the Senate Finance Committee Hearing this Tuesday, Feb. 26th, at 1:00 p.m.

East Miller Senate Building Room 3
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, Maryland
(301) 858-3145

If you plan to submit written comments, you will need to bring 20 copies. Here is a link to the Senate Finance Committee FAQ Guidelines: http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/pubs-current/current-fin-faqs.pdf

This is an important hearing! So please do make every effort to attend, and if possible, to testify.
(NB: Currently these 2 bills are last on the hearing schedule that day, but that can change.)

There are two Bills In the Senate Finance Committee:

SB 937
Wireless Facilities — Installation and Regulation
Sponsored by Senator Klausmeier

SB 713
Wireless Facilities — Permitting and Siting
Sponsored by Senator Beidle

And two identical companion bills In the House Economic Matters Committee:

HB 654
Wireless Facilities — Installation and Regulation
Sponsored by Chair Dereck Davis

HB 1020 (Pending?)
Wireless Facilities — Permitting and Siting
Sponsored by Del. Lisanti

SB 937 and HB 654 are far more egregious than the other two bills, but all four bills would result in cell tower antennas throughout our neighborhoods and next to our homes.

  • SB 937 and HB 654 essentially let cell tower companies do whatever they want.
  • SB 713 and HB 1020 lock in current FCC rules which are (thankfully) being challenged in court. If FCC is overturned in court, Marylander’s would still be burdened by the rejected FCC rules.
Please try to attend the hearing, make calls, send emails and written comments, testify, share this post on Social Media, and/or with friends, family, and colleagues. 
Take Action Now

We made the difference and halted similar bills last year.  We can do it again!
 
1. Call and Write to the House Economic Matters Committee 
(Email addresses and telephone numbers for Committee members can be found below).

Phone/Email Suggested Script:

Please oppose SB 937 and SB 713 [or HB 654 and HB 1020 heard on Feb. 21st, if contacting the Economics Matters Committee] scheduled to be heard on February 26th at 1:00 pm in Senate Finance Committee. These bills are both giveaways to the telecommunications industry at the expense local communities, public safety and our health. Although SB 713 is a bit more consumer friendly, both bills would allow the the telecommunication companies to place their industrial equipment next to our homes with no regard for the safety of our communities. 

We don’t want more wireless capacity. We don’t want more wireless devices and all the unnecessary Internet-connected things. What we DO want is safe, fast, reliable, cyber secure, and energy efficient fiber to all homes and businesses in Maryland.

Please protect our local communities and vote NO on SB 937 and SB 713 [or HB 654 and HB 1020 if contacting the Economic Matters Committee].

2. Show up in person to testify at the hearing
The more people the better.  The hearing is on February 26th at 1:00 pm. BUT YOU MUST SIGN UP IN PERSON BY NOON!  The hearing will take place in the Senate Building at 11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD in the Senate Finance Hearing Room. Written statements can be longer but verbal remarks must be limited to 3 minutes. For more info, you can call the office at (301) 858-3145)

3. Send an email to all committee members
(Email addresses may be pasted directly into your message)

Emails for the Senate Finance Committee formatted to paste directly into email: malcolm.augustine@senate.state.md.us, pamela.beidle@senate.state.md.us, joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us, brian.feldman@senate.state.md.us, antonio.hayes@senate.state.md.us,steve.hershey@senate.state.md.us, jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us, delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us, katherine.klausmeier@senate.state.md.us, Ben.Kramer@senate.state.md.us,edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us

Email addresses of the Economic Matters Committee formatted to paste directly into email:
dereck.davis@house.state.md.us, brian.crosby@house.state.md.us, ct.wilson@house.state.md.us, cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us, christopher.adams@house.state.md.us, courtney.watson@house.state.md.us, Diana.Fennell@house.state.md.us, eric.bromwell@house.state.md.us, Johnny.Mautz@house.state.md.us, kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us, kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us, lily.qi@house.state.md.us, lorig.charkoudian@house.state.md.us, mark.fisher@house.state.md.us, MaryAnn.Lisanti@house.state.md.us, mike.rogers@house.state.md.us, Ned.Carey@house.state.md.us, pam.queen@house.state.md.us, rick.impallaria@house.state.md.us, Seth.Howard@house.state.md.us, steven.arentz@house.state.md.us, talmadge.branch@house.state.md.us, warren.miller@house.state.md.us

Here’s a summary document that may be useful for learning more about some of the major issues surrounding the deployment of 4g/5g small cells throughout our neighborhoods.
https://whatis5g.info/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Summary-of-5g-issues-for-activists.pdf

Many thanks. And please share this post with the WHOLE STATE OF MARYLAND!!

2019 Senate Finance Committee – Phone, email, district

Chair: Senator Kelley    Delores Baltimore            10           410.841.3606      delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us

Vice Chair: Senator Feldman, Brian                  Montgomery     D15        410.841.3169      brian.feldman@senate.state.md.us      

Senators in the Finance Committee        

Augustine, Malcolm        Prince George’s                D47       410.841.3745  malcolm.augustine@senate.state.md.us 

Beidle, Pamela                Anne Arundel      D 32       410.841.3593      pamela.beidle@senate.state.md.us      

Benson, Joanne`              Prince George’s                D24       410.841.3148      joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us    

Hayes, Antonio                 Baltimore City    D40        410.841.3656      antonio.hayes@senate.state.md.us      

Hershey, Jr.,  Stephen   Kent, Queen Anne’s, Cecil, & Caroline    36           410.841.3639                steve.hershey@senate.state.md.us      

Jennings, J.B.                     Baltimore & Harford  D7  7410.841.3706  jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us            

Klausmeier, Katherine   Baltimore            D8           410.841.3620 katherine.klausmeier@senate.state.md.us             

Kramer, Benjamin           Montgomery     D19        410.841.3151      Ben.Kramer@senate.state.md.us           

Relly, Edward                     Anne Arundel    D33        410.841.3568      edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us


2019 House Economic Matters Committee Members: Phone, email, district
     

Last Name           First Name          County District  Office Phone     Email    

Adams,                 Christopher        Caroline, Dorchester, Talbot & Wicomico              D37BA   410.841.3343                christopher.adams@house.state.md.us                              

Arentz,                 Steven                  Caroline, Cecil, Kent &Queen Anne’s      D36B      410.841.3543                steven.arentz@house.state.md.us        

Branch, Talmadge            Baltimore City    D45A     410.841.3398      talmadge.branch@house.state.md.us  

Bromwell, Eric                   Baltimore            D8          410.841.3766      eric.bromwell@house.state.md.us        

Brooks, Benjamin             Baltimore            D10A    410.841.3352      benjamin.brooks@house.state.md.us  

Carey, Ned                         Anne Arundel    D31A    410.841.3047      ned.carey@house.state.md.us

Charkoudian, Lorig          Montgomery     D20       410.841.3423      lorig.charkoudian@house.state.md.us 

Crosby, Brian                      St. Mary’s             D29B     410.841.3277      brian.crosby@house.state.md.us           

Davis, Dereck  (Chair)                   Prince George’s                D25B     410.841.3519      dereck.davis@house.state.md.us           

Kathleen Dumais                   Montgomery               D15       410-841-3052 
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

Fennell, Diana                   Prince George’s                D47A    410.841.3478      diana.fennell@house.state.md.us          

Fisher, Mark                       Calvert  27C                       410.841.3231        mark.fisher@house.state.md.us             

Glenn, Cheryl                    Baltimore City    D45B     410.841.3257      cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us           

Howard,  Seth                   Anne Arundel    D30B     410.946.5400      seth.howard@house.state.md.u            

Impallaria, Richard           Baltimore & Harford         7A         410.841.3289      rick.impallaria@house.state.md.us         

Lisanti,  Mary Ann            Harford 34AB      410.841.3331      MaryAnn.Lisanti@house.state.md.us   

Mautz,  Johnny                 Caroline, Dorchester, Talbot & Wicomico              37BB      410.841.3429                johnny.mautz@house.state.md.us        

Miller, Warren                   Carroll & Howard              D9AB     410.841.3582      warren.miller@house.state.md.us         

Qi. Lily                                   Montgomery     D15        410.841.3090      lily.qi@house.state.md.us          

Queen, Pam                       Montgomery     D14       410.841.3380      pam.queen@house.state.md.us             

Rogers, Mike                      Anne Arundel    D32       410.841.3372      mike.rogers@house.state.md.us            

Valderrama, Kriselda      Prince George’s                D26B     410.841.3210      kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us